
Ambulatory Surgery Services
The New York State Workers’ Compensation Board (Board) transitioned from a Products of Ambulatory Surgery 
(PAS)-based ambulatory surgery fee schedule to an Enhanced Ambulatory Patient Groups (EAPG) methodology. 
This transition coincided with the Board’s implementation of the International Classification of Diseases, Tenth 
Revision (ICD-10) codes. The Official New York State Workers’ Compensation Board Ambulatory Surgery Fee 
Schedule (Ambulatory Surgery Fee Schedule) provides billing guidelines for services effective October 1, 2015.

3M Core Grouper Software
Information regarding the 3M products that support EAPG reimbursement is available at: 
3m.com/3M/en_US/health-information-systems-us/providers/grouping-and-classification/enhanced-apgs

The Board will be using the 3M Core Grouper software. 

For all dates of service on or after October 1, 2015, Hospital Outpatient National Correct Coding Initiative (NCCI) 
edits, Medical Unlikely edits, and 3M Proprietary EAPG edits will be used by the Board to process bills for 
ambulatory surgery services. These settings are necessary to properly calculate bills for ambulatory surgery 
services under the New York State workers’ compensation system.

Authorized Facilities
The Board does not authorize Ambulatory Surgery Centers (ASC) or hospitals. Any New York State hospital that 
performs outpatient surgery and/or ASC approved under New York State Department of Health (DOH) Article 28  
submitting a bill should be reimbursed. If a facility-specific value is not present, the rate should be calculated 
generically. Directions for creating generic tables within the software can be found on the Board’s website at:  
wcb.ny.gov/content/main/hcpp/MedFeeSchedules/SettingUp3MGenericTables.pdf

Out-of-State Facilities
Rates of payment for out-of-state providers in counties contiguous to New York City and New York’s Dutchess, 
Putnam, Westchester, Rockland and Orange Counties will reflect the average Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) 
payment for the same services applicable to New York State providers in those downstate areas. Out-of-state 
counties contiguous to the downstate rate region include: Sussex, Passaic, Bergin, Hudson, Essex, Middlesex, 
Union and Monmouth Counties in New Jersey; Pike County in Pennsylvania; and Litchfield and Fairfield Counties 
in Connecticut. 

Official New York State Workers’ Compensation Board 
Ambulatory Surgery Fee Schedule
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The New York State Workers’ Compensation Board protects the rights of employees 
and employers by ensuring the proper delivery of benefits and by promoting compliance 
with the law. To learn more about the Workers’ Compensation Board, visit wcb.ny.gov.

facebook.com/NYSWCB

youtube.com/newyorkstateworkerscompensationboard

twitter.com/NYSWorkersComp instagram.com/nysworkerscompboard

Sign up for WCB Notifications at: wcb.ny.gov/Notify
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Appendix A — NYS Workers’ Compensation Specific Base Rates

Service Type
*Base Rate  
 Visit Code

NYS DOH EAPG 
Base Rates 

Base Rate 
Effective Date

NYS WCB EAPG 
Base Rates 2015

 DOWNSTATE UPSTATE DOWNSTATE UPSTATE

Ambulatory Surgery Hospital 1401/1416 $197.29 $152.41 January 1, 2011 $295.94 $228.62 

Ambulatory Surgery Freestanding 1408 $116.24 $101.18 
Phase I  

APG Base Rates
January 1, 2010

$295.94 $228.62 

*Schedule provides base rates only. For the Blend and capital add-on values, refer to the Rate by Provider files on the NYS DOH website.

Base Rate Visit Code 1416 may be used for ambulatory surgery performed at out of-state hospitals.

New York State Workers’ Compensation Specific Base Rates
The current Medicaid EAPG rates do not compensate ASC similarly when the same services are provided in an ASC 
versus a hospital. The Board, by creating a workers’ compensation base rate, will pay the same value for the same 
service(s) performed within a hospital or an ASC. 

Current regulation states that New York State workers’ compensation base rates shall be 150% of Medicaid’s 
hospital base rates. The Board will adopt 150% of Medicaid’s hospital base rates in the Ambulatory Surgery Fee 
Schedule (see Appendix A).

The capital add-on value is an amount provided by the DOH based on approved cost of capital. The Medicaid 
capital add-on values are not increased by 150%.

Not all patients are appropriate candidates for surgery in an ASC. Proper screening of patients to determine 
whether the ASC is the appropriate location for surgical care is the responsibility of the surgeon as well as the ASC.
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